Past Book Award Winners

The AAPOR Book Award seeks to recognize influential books that have stimulated theoretical and scientific research in public opinion and/or influenced our understanding or application of survey research methodology. Eligibility for the award includes any book in the field that is at least three years old (to allow time for books to be read and reviewed), including any published before or during the period covered by the list of the Fifty Books That Have Significantly Shaped Public Opinion Research 1946-1995.”

Nomination details

2024 – Incarceration Nation by Peter K. Enns

2023 – Behind the Mule, Michael Dawson

2022 –Bit by Bit: Social Research in the Digital Age​, Matthew J. Salganik

2021 – Applied Qualitative Research Design: A Total Quality Framework Approach, Margaret R. Roller and Paul J. Lavrakas

2020 – Practical Tools for Designing and Weighting Survey Samples, Richard Valliant, Frauke Kreuter and Jill Dever

2019 – Hearing the Other Side: Deliberative versus Participatory Democracy, Diana C. Mutz

2018 – Prejudice in Politics: Group Position, Public Opinion, and the Wisconsin Treaty Rights Dispute, Lawrence Bobo

2017 – Numbered Voices: How Opinion Polling Has Shaped American Politics, Susan Herbst

2015 – Affluence and Influence: Economic Inequality and Political Power in America, Martin Gilens

2014 – Social Trends in American Life: Findings from the General Social Survey since 1972,  Peter V. Marsden

2013 – Designing Effective Web Surveys, Mick Couper