Meet the 2024 Award Winners


There were many qualified nominees making this year’s selection especially difficult, but our volunteer judges rose to the occasion by selecting a worthy recipient in each category. We are pleased to announce this year’s award winners!

We invite you to take time to get to read more about these individuals and congratulate them in person during the annual Awards Banquet at the AAPOR 79th Annual Conference in Atlanta.

AAPOR Book Award

This award recognizes books that have influenced our understanding of public opinion or survey research methodology.

Winner: Peter K. Enns, Cornell University

Title: Incarceration Nation

Burns “Bud” Roper Fellow

This award is intended to help people working in survey research or public opinion research and who are in the early stages of their careers to attend the annual AAPOR conference and participate in short courses.


John Collins, University of Mannheim

Becca Gordon, Mathematica

James McClure, Mathematica

Anna Marston, Mathematica

Macy Miller, Mathematica

Inclusive Voices

This award recognizes the important data sets, research, and survey methods that have improved the ability to study complex social phenomena related to understudied populations.


California Health Interview Survey at the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research

Monroe G. Sirken Award

This award is given annually to a distinguished survey researcher for contributions to interdisciplinary survey research that improves the theory and methods of collecting, verifying, processing, presenting or analyzing survey data.


Michael R. Elliott, University of Michigan

AAPOR Policy Impact Award

This award recognizes research that has had a demonstrable impact on policy. The award is given to outstanding research projects, data, or data products that had a clear impact on policy decisions or public discussion of policies.


American National Election Studies

AAPOR Public Service Award

The AAPOR Public Service Award is intended to recognize and honor outstanding public service and dedication to maintaining AAPOR standards.


Brian Harris-Kojetin, Committee on National Statistics

Seymour Sudman Student Paper Competition Award

This award honors the best student paper presented at the AAPOR annual conference. The award committee will consider all papers relating to the study of public opinion, focusing on theory, substantive findings, research methods, and/or statistical techniques used in such research.

Winner: Jonathon Mendelson, US Bureau of Labor Statistics

Title: Optimal Allocation Under Anticipated Nonresponse

Honorable Mention: Marco M. Aviña, Harvard University

Title: Perceived Economic Contributions Increase Support for Immigration Reform

Student Travel Award

These awards are offered to students so that they may attend the annual conference and experience this important educational and professional networking event for survey methodology and public opinion researchers.


Joshua Claassen, Leibniz University Hannover

Carlos Dario Cristiano Botia, University of Michigan

Alexandros Christos Gkotinakos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

Jing Ling Tan, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Jeannine Pearce, University of California, Irvine

The Student-Faculty Diversity Pipeline Award

This award is intended to recruit faculty-student “pairs” interested in becoming AAPOR colleagues. The award targets members of historically underrepresented racial-ethnic groups, interested in the study of public opinion and survey research methodology.


Nana Amma Asamoah, University of Arkansas

Joanna Carter, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Hakim Hines, Rutgers University

Francy Luna Diaz, University of Michigan

Zoe Walker, University of Michigan

Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award

This award recognizes accomplishments in the fields of public opinion and survey research that had their primary impact on the field during the past decade. These innovations could consist of new theories, ideas, applications, methodologies, or technologies.


Dana Thomson, University of Twente

Designing and Implementing Gridded Population Surveys