

# Executive Council Minutes | October 20, 2016

Roger Tourangeau	President	Present
Tim Johnson	Vice President	Present
Mollyann Brodie	Past President	Present
Allyson Holbrook	Secretary-Treasurer	Present
Janet Streicher	Associate Secretary-Treasurer	Present
Sandra Bauman	Communications Chair	Present
Jennifer Hunter Childs	Associate Communications Chair	Present
Jennifer Dykema	Conference Chair	Present
Trent Buskirk	Associate Conference Chair	Present
Sarah Cho	Education Committee Chair	Present
Brady West	Associate Education Chair	Present
Anna Wiencrot	Membership & Chapter Relations Chair	Present
Morgan Earp	Associate Membership & Chapter Relations Chair	Absent
John Loft	Standards Chair	Present
Andy Peytchev	Associate Standards Chair	Present
Rich Morin	Councilor-at-Large	Present
Nancy Belden	Councilor-at-Large	Present

#### Staff

Adam ThocherExecutive DirectorPresentHeidi DiederichAdministrative DirectorPresentEric BaileyMarketing ManagerPresent

### WELCOME, INTRODUCTIONS, CALL TO ORDER, REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES

President Roger Tourangeau called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. EST and a quorum was established.

Janet Streicher moved, seconded by John Loft to approve the minutes of the September 21, 2016 Council meeting as amended. The minutes were approved unanimously.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

Roger Tourangeau noted that the following consent reports were presented for information: Conference Steering Committee, Membership & Chapter Relations, Data Falsification Task Force, Communications Committee, AAPOR.org Metrics, Education Committee and Survey Climate Task Force.

Mollyann Brodie moved, seconded by Rich Morin to accept the consent reports as amended. The motion carried unanimously.

MAB comment: please review the MCR survey findings, they are really interesting.

### SECRETARY-TREASURER REPORT

#### **August 2016 Financials**

Secretary-Treasurer Allyson Holbrook reported as of August 31, 2016, net income is at \$261,847. This represents 95% of revenue and 77% of expenses for the year. The end of year outlook continues to project a small surplus.

# **APPOINTMENTS - ALL**

- Sudman Award Committee: Trent Buskirk (chair), David Barker, Ipek Bilgen, David Dutwin, Dana Garbarski, Matt Jans and Leora Lawton to a 1-year term.
- Standards Complaint Ad-Hoc Committee: John Loft (chair), Andy Peytchev (chair), Steven Blumberg, David Cantor, Courtney Kennedy, Ron Langley and Nancy Mathiowetz to a 3-year term.

• AAPOR Award Committee: Roger Tourangeau (Chair), LinChiat Chang, Scott Keeter, Frauke Kreuter, Jordon Peugh and David Wilson to a 1-year term.

Nancy Belden moved, seconded by Trent Buskirk to approve the committee appointments as proposed. The motion carried unanimously.

#### AAPOR 2017 BUDGET - All

Allyson Holbrook reviewed the budget and noted that amendments suggested during the September meeting were incorporated. The budget projects a \$2,649 deficit for 2017.

Tim Johnson moved, seconded by Sandra Bauman to approve the 2017 budget as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

#### 2016 ELECTION AND POLLING TASK FORCE - Bauman

#### **Budget Request - Bauman**

The 2016 Election and Polling Task Force has an increased scope that required the assistance of a student intern. The task force is asking that AAPOR contribute \$500 for this added need.

John Loft moved, seconded by Tim Johnson to pay the student \$500 USD for their work. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **SURVEY PRACTICE EDITOR - Cho**

Sarah Cho informed Council that the search for the Survey Practice Editor continues. The application deadline is November 1, 2016. The editor will serve from December 1, 2016 through November 30, 2019

#### APPOINTMENT OF NONMEMBERS TO COMMITTEES, TASK FORCES, AD-HOC COMMITTEES – Tourangeau

Roger Tourangeau recommended that a formal policy indicating that individuals appointed to serve on AAPOR committees be current AAPOR members. A draft policy will be distributed for approval and review at the November meeting.

## **AAPOR STATEMENT ON REVOCATION OF CONSENT TO USE DATASETS – Tourangeau**

Roger Tourangeau reported to council that an author of a piece that had been accepted by *Survey Practice* had to withdraw a dataset because the funder the dataset withdrew permission to publish the dataset at the last minute after the article had been approved, edited and formatted to publish in *Survey Practice*. Council agreed to draft a statement regarding this for approval at the November meeting.

## 2017 WEBINAR PROPOSAL - Cho

Brady West presented the Webinar Subcommittee's proposal for alternative webinar models. The current budget for 2017 includes \$56,000 in revenue in 2017 from the webinars. One goal of this subcommittee is for the webinar costs to be offset through other mechanisms (e.g., institutional memberships, nonmember regsitrants, sponsorship) so that registration costs for members can be reduced or eliminated. There was also a discussion about sending the 2017 schedule of webinars in information sent to AAPOR members about renewing membership for 2017 and in the sponsorship prospectus. A report will be added to the agenda for the November meeting.

## **OTHER OLD/NEW BUSINESS - All**

**Post-Election Polls FAQs** – Sandra Bauman recommend that the FAQs for reporters' requests for post-election polls be updated. Sandra asked for suggestions on how AAPOR can best be prepared for reporters' questions.

Call for Nominations – Mollyann Brodie reported that the call for nominations to the Executive Council went out this week.

**Transparency Initiative** – Tim Johnson reported that the TICC had accepted it 80<sup>th</sup> member.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Roger Tourangeau stated that regular meeting was adjourned at 2:20 p.m. EST.

Rich Morin moved, seconded by Tim Johnson to adjourn the Executive Council meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

Approved: 17 November 2016